Int'l - Automobiles & Drivers License
Buying a Car
Most students find that they do not need a car, or that a friend has a car that they can use. But if you find that you would want to buy a car please be smart and purchase wisely. Some things to consider before buying a car are:
- It costs money to keep the car insured. Most companies charge a monthly fee or a large payment every six months. These could range from $600 every six months to over $1,200 every six months.
- You must pay to register the car in the state of Missouri.
- You must have a Missouri Drivers License.
- You will eventually have to sell the vehicle. Make sure, if you purchase one, that you get a vehicle that will hold its value and you can resell in a year or two. Otherwise, you will need to buy a very cheap car that can be sold very cheaply to a friend before you leave. Do not just leave the car on campus! It will be towed away and you will be billed.
- Once you buy a car, you accept all liabilities associated with the car until it is registered by a new owner. For example, if you sell a car and do not get a bill of sale, the car is still considered yours. If the new owner was to get a parking ticket before registering the car, it would go on your record, not his!
You must have a drivers license in order to drive in the State of Missouri. To obtain a Missouri drivers license, you must pass a written test, an eye sight test, and a driving test or road test. An appointment may be necessary to take the driving test. An international license or license from your home country will not be considered valid in the state of Missouri. To apply, you will need the following documents:
It is highly advisable that you study for your written test and to practice for your road test.
- I-94 (must have stamp)
- Student ID
- Written verification of attendance at Lindenwood University. (The International Student Center can provide this for you)
If you buy a car, you must register it. Requirements for registering a car vary depending on whether the car is new or used and how old the car is. Please check with the Missouri Department of Revenue for more information. www.dor.mo.gov
The state of Missouri requires all owners of a vehicle to have automobile insurance. It is essential to have at the very minimum liability insurance that meets the state minimum. You must carry proof of insurance in your vehicle at all times. There are stiff penalties for not having the proof in your car, or for not having insurance on your vehicle.
You should contact several insurance carriers before you purchase a vehicle to see where you can get the best deal.
The use of seatbelts is mandatory in the state of Missouri. You can be fined for not wearing them.