Lindenwood University

View Full HTML Version

Students to be Recognized April 23 at Honors Ceremony

Lindenwood University-Belleville will honor 13 outstanding students in its second annual Honors Convocation ceremony at 5 p.m. on April 23 in the Lindenwood Auditorium.

This marks the second year the campus will present one male and one female student with the Sibley and Easton Awards, respectively. Named in honor of the university’s founders, George Sibley and Mary Easton Sibley, the awards are two of the most prestigious honors that Lindenwood offers to graduating seniors. Recipients must demonstrate an exceptional talent in academics, as well as contribute to Lindenwood’s campus life through student activities, organizations, or athletics.

The 2013 Sibley and Easton Award recipients are Andrew Dahle and Lydia Blaha.

At this year’s Honors Convocation, the campus will, for the first time, present its series of Academic and Community Service Awards to students as well. These awards are endowed by donors in perpetuity, and more are planned for each additional year.

The list of student award recipients is as follows: Kristina Zivkov, Graduate Business Student of the Year; Amanda Hoffarth, Undergraduate Business Student of the Year; Angela Smith, Counseling Student of the Year; Ruben Rivas, Outstanding Criminal Justice Major; Rachel Sara Grosse, Education Student of the Year; Austin Frazier, LU-Belleville Essay Contest Winner; Dan Stumpf, Outstanding Humanities Student; Omelia Durso-Missey, Outstanding LCIE Graduate Student; Laura K. Sims, Norman F. Ackermann Award of Academic and Community Excellence; Emily Pugh, Outstanding Psychology Student of the Year; Cody Fincher, Barbara and Fred J. Kern Community Service Award

“We’re so pleased to hold this ceremony to honor some of LU-Belleville’s best and brightest students,” said Dr. Keith Russell, dean of academics. “I hope that many members of our community will attend to show their support for these fine scholars.”

If you are interested in learning more about the opportunities available for naming Lindenwood University-Belleville’s Academic and Community Service Awards, please contact Mary Radcliff, Assistant Vice President and Executive Director of Community Relations, at (618) 239-6031 or

Press Release Contact:

Public Relations
Lindenwood University

Copyright 1827 - Lindenwood University • 209 S. Kingshighway • St. Charles, MO 63301
Switchboard (636) 949-2000
Undergraduate Admissions (636) 949-4949
Evening & Graduate Admissions (636) 949-4933