Faculty Awards
Recognize Deserving Educators

Faculty Awards
Recognize Deserving Educators

Faculty Awards Recognize Deserving Educators

LSGA Professor of the Year

Lindenwood Student Government accepts nominations from students, and the LSG leadership selects one candidate for recognition. This year, John O’Hagan, associate professor of theatre, was recognized for going above and beyond. O’Hagan’s selection demonstrates his impact on the students of Lindenwood, noting the professor’s passion and inclusive environment he has created.

Adjunct Teaching Award

Paula Nunning, adjunct instructor in the School of Humanities was recognized for her innovative teaching techniques, knowledge, and generosity. She demonstrates the best combination of pedagogical innovation, student-centeredness, and effectiveness as a classroom teacher.

President’s Scholar Teaching Award

Catherine Shoff, assistant professor of public health, received the President’s Scholar Teaching Award for effectively merging professional scholarship with effective pedagogy.

Emerson Award for Teaching Excellence

Melissa Qualls, associate professor of English in the School of Humanities was presented the Emerson Award for Teaching Excellence. This award is sponsored by Emerson Electric, Inc. and recognizes a full-time Lindenwood faculty member for pedagogical innovation and effectiveness as a classroom teacher.  

Scholar of the Year

Chad Kerksick, associate professor of exercise science, was awarded the Scholar of the Year award. Kerksick exhibits the highest level of professional scholarship and was recognized for his research efforts.

Service Award

Darrell DeMartino, associate professor of paramedicine in the School of Health Sciences, was recognized for exhibiting the highest level of service to, and promotion of, Lindenwood University.

Freshman Impact Awards

Freshman Impact Awards are given to faculty for their support and impact on the experience of first-year students. The faculty recognized in 2021 are Melissa Qualls, Carla Mueller, Heather Pennington, John O’Hagan, Robert Bickel, Ricardo Delgado, and Shenika Harris.