Skip to Main Content

Apr 1

Updated Policies and Procedures

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Lindenwood University faculty and staff are working from home and all on-campus offices are closed to the public and university employees. Lindenwood personnel and offices are available for business by telephone and email to provide continuity in university operations and student support services. Please visit for more information.

Brown to Receive Emerson Award

Lindenwood University philosophy professor David Brown has been named recipient of the 2007 Emerson Award for Excellence in Teaching. He was notified of the award in a presentation by Lindenwood President James D. Evans at the school’s faculty meeting on Wednesday, Oct. 10. He will be formally presented the award at a ceremony at the Ritz Carlton Hotel in Clayton in November.

Brown, who has a doctorate in philosophy from the University of Toronto, is chair of the philosophy department at Lindenwood, where he has taught since fall of 2000. He has been department chair since 2001. Brown has also taught at Drury University in Springfield, Mo.; Lester L. Cox College of Nursing and Health Sciences, also in Springfield; Columbia College in Marshfield, Mo.; the Paul VI Pontifical Institute in St. Louis; St. Phillip’s Seminary in Toronto, and the University of Toronto.

Brown also runs the Philosophy in Film series every semester at Lindenwood and hosted “A World of Faith,” a cable television show produced last spring for LU TV-26, in which he talked to religious leaders from different faiths.

“I was very surprised when Dr. Evans called my name,” Brown said about being notified of the award. “I felt very honored and humbled and grateful.”

The Lindenwood recipient of this award is judged to be the full-time professor who demonstrates the best combination of pedagogical innovation, student-centeredness, and effectiveness as a classroom teacher. Nominations are made to the Faculty Planning and Development Committee, which recommends two to four finalists to the Deans’ Council, which, in turn, reports its choice to the president. Last year’s recipient was Rebecca Panagos in the Education Division.

Lindenwood University
209 S. Kingshighway
St. Charles, MO 63301