Skip to Main Content

Aug 1

Special Notice Regarding the COVID-19 Pandemic

Roaring Return

For important updates on Lindenwood University campus safety precautions and associated information from public health officials, please visit our Roaring Return page and the CDC's COVID-19 site. Resources for faculty preparing courses for the Roaring Return can be located at

History Bowl Finals Sunday Will be Rematch of 2008 Final

Lindenwood University’s Third Annual Invitational History Bowl will conclude on live television Sunday night with a rematch between Fort Zumwalt West High School in O’Fallon and Bayless High School, which won the competition last year, in South St. Louis County.

The final round will air at 7 p.m. on Lindenwood’s high-definition television station, LUTV, channel 989 on Charter Communications’ digital tier. It will also stream live on the Internet at Simply click on “Watch LUTV Live Now.”

The competition started Saturday, Nov. 7, with eight teams. In addition to the two finalists, they included Webster Groves High School, Fort Zumwalt North High School (O’Fallon), Francis Howell Central High School (St. Charles), New Life Christian School (North St. Louis County), Metro High School (St. Louis), and Orchard Farm High School.

Presented in traditional history bowl format, all rounds were played on Nov. 7 and have been airing at 7 p.m. nightly on LUTV and on the web. The competition is broadcast from the Emerson Black Box Theater in Lindenwood’s J. Scheidegger Center for the Arts.

Team members answer questions on American and world history, political science and geography, compiled by Lindenwood history tutors. Lindenwood History Professor Jeffrey Smith is the competition’s host and moderator.

The Bayless team consists of Travis Koons, Andy Breihan (both of which competed last year), and James Murphy; the team coach is Jeremy Gibbs. The Zumwalt West team includes Robert Foster, Abby Genet (who have both participated in all three LU History Bowls), and Austin Henke. It is coached by John Conway.

All participating students are offered scholarships to Lindenwood with increasing value for students whose teams advance farther into the competition.

Lindenwood University
209 S. Kingshighway
St. Charles, MO 63301