Skip to Main Content

Lindenlink wins six regional awards including top online publication

Lindenwood University students have won six regional journalism awards, including one that named Lindenlink as the best Independent Online Student Publication in a four-state area.

The competition, sponsored by the Society of Professional Journalists and called the Mark of Excellence Awards, honors the best collegiate journalism in the country for 2019. In the annual competition, student journalists are recognized at regional levels before moving on to the national contest.

The Lindenwood students won in Region 7, an area comprised of Missouri, Kansas, Iowa and Nebraska.

Typically, the awards are announced at regional conferences conducted in the spring, but most of this year’s conferences were canceled because of the coronavirus outbreak. As a result, the regional awards were announced through the SPJ website. The announcement for Region 7 occurred on March 27. All of the Region 7 awards. National winners will be notified in late spring.

MOE Awards entries are judged by professionals with at least three years of journalism experience. Judges were directed to choose entries they felt were among the best in student journalism. If no entry rose to the level of excellence, no award was given.

“This is just one measure of the important contributions that our students make to inform the campus community,” Lindenlink adviser Neil Ralston said. “They work hard to keep Lindenlink fresh, even when that means they have to produce content on weekends and during breaks. They’re posting news even now when campus is essentially closed.”

Winners and their award categories

The staff of Lindenlink won in the Best Independent Online Student Publication category for the news website.

Kat Owens won in the Data Visualization category for her illustration of football player Erik Henneman in the sports story titled “Reaching for the Pros.”

Dominic Hoscher won in the Online Sports Reporting category for his story about Erik Henneman titled “Reaching for the Pros.”

Kayla Drake and Matt Hampton won in the Podcast category for a series of podcasts about former Lindenwood University President Dennis Spellmann called The Spellmann Era.

Kayla Drake won in the Online/Digital Sports Videography category for a video of preparations for Lindenwood’s 2019 Homecoming football game. The video was titled “Making It Happen.”

Kayla Drake was a finalist in the Data Visualization category for her illustration that accompanied a story titled “Where Lynx are going before Belleville undergrad ends in May.”

Lindenwood University
209 S. Kingshighway
St. Charles, MO 63301