Human Resources

Staff Recognition Awards

Staff Recognition Awards

The Staff Council's Staff Recognition Awards honor the extraordinary professional contributions and quality service of our university staff and their integral role in advancing Lindenwood University's mission.


All regular staff members, full-time and part-time are eligible, provided they are in good standing with their department and the university at the time of nomination. Previous award recipients are ineligible for a five-year period.


Award Descriptions / Past Recipients

Real Experience. Real Success Award

This award honors and recognizes a staff member who made a significant positive impact within their department and across the university throughout the previous year. They have maintained a high level of productivity and consistent quality of work, demonstrated a high degree of initiative in the performance of functions, displayed exceptional dependability, maintained effective relationships with others, and demonstrated leadership qualities.

  • 2023-2024: Kristie Sissom
  • 2022-2023: Tom Wagganer
  • 2021-2022: Wan Ormes
  • 2020-2021: Matthew Kertzman
  • 2019-2020: Anita Hoeffner
  • 2018-2019: Joseph Weber
  • 2017-2018: Kara Schilli

Rookie of the Year Award

This award is given to an outstanding staff member within their first year of service with the university. This person demonstrates excellence in overall job performance, provides significant contributions to their department, shows a willingness to assist beyond normal expectations, demonstrates dedication to the university and promotes an atmosphere of collaboration and cooperation.

  • 2023-2024: Grace Barnett
  • 2022-2023: Zeke Chism
  • 2021-2022: Rachel Jagust
  • 2020-2021: Evie Ward
  • 2019-2020: Janet Owens
  • 2018-2019: Rachel Heuermann
  • 2017-2018: Kristin Trotter

Lindenwood Staff Service Award

This award is presented to a staff member who has exhibited the highest level of service to and promotion of Lindenwood University. Service could have taken place within Lindenwood or in the surrounding community. This person demonstrates a commitment to providing excellent service to peers, students, parents, faculty, alumni, and/or others in the community, all of which contribute to the high reputation of Lindenwood.

  • 2023-2024: Amy Bowsher
  • 2022-2023: Whitley Huxhold
  • 2021-2022: Jason Hood
  • 2020-2021: Kristen Norwood and Lisa Jacob
  • 2019-2020: Kevin Manley
  • 2018-2019: Brittany Brown
  • 2017-2018: Casey Finnell

Behind the Scenes Award

This award is given to a staff member who works in a position that does not directly interact with students but they still live the Lindenwood University mission and provide excellent service to the university through their role by significantly contributing to their department; this is an exemplary colleague and university recognized resource who provides the highest quality of service to the Lindenwood community.

  • 2023-2024: Ginger Hazlewood-Gaylor
  • 2022-2023: Elaine Ragland
  • 2021-2022: Eric Mircsov
  • 2020-2021: Mary Stacy-Brewer
  • 2019-2020: Joyce Daugherty
  • 2018-2019: Greg Cole
  • 2017-2018: Scott Schulz

Student G.E.M. Award (Going the Extra Mile)

This award recognizes a staff member who has made an ongoing commitment to providing expert service to Lindenwood's students; they have demonstrated initiative and creativity, exceptional and continuous improvement in student service. This award's nominations should be submitted by students of Lindenwood.

  • 2023-2024: Nia Spencer
  • 2022-2023: Madison Shaw
  • 2021-2022: Tristan Benzon
  • 2020-2021: Skylar Brennan
  • 2019-2020: Jennifer Spellazza
  • 2018-2019: Angie Royal
  • 2017-2018: Nia Spencer

Q2 Service Excellence Award

  • 2023-2024: Chris Rumsey

First Year Programs Student Choice Award

  • 2023-2024: Margaret Waechter

First Year Impact Award – Staff

  • 2023-2024: Wendi Price

Presidents Distinguished Service Award

  • 2023-2024: Kyle Routh

Eligibility to Nominate

The Lindenwood Community (staff, faculty, adjuncts, students, and administrators) is invited to nominate an outstanding staff member for one of five awards. All nominations should include specific and current examples of the staff member's achievements and contributions that reflect the attributes listed for each award.

Selection and Award Process

An Awards and Recognition Committee, appointed by the Staff Council, reviews nominations and recommends staff members for each award category. The Staff Council will review and discuss the recommended award nominees at their March meeting and come to a final determination of award recipients.

Note: The awards selection committee, may, at their discretion, transfer a nominee from the category they were originally nominated to another category for which they are more qualified.

The deadline for nominations will be the last working day of February each year. 

Award Prizes

Award recipients will be recognized at the annual staff meeting and awards ceremony held each spring. Award winners will receive a dedicated parking spot on campus for the following year and be invited to a celebration reception at the Lindenwood House with family and/or friends.